Scroll to content
Mount Carmel Catholic Primary School home page

Mount Carmel

Catholic Primary School

I have come so that they may have life and have it to the full - John 10:10


The Curriculum – Areas of Learning



Mount Carmel follows the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.


The Foundation Stage Curriculum is based around 7 areas of learning.


There are 3 Prime Areas


  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Physical Development


There are 4 Specific Areas:


  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts & Design


As stated in the Early Years Foundation Stage Guidance, we believe in the following principles:


  • Every child is a unique child, who is currently learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to the individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and
  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.  The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.


For more detailed information, please download the Parents' Guide to the EYFS Framework.

How your child will progress through the 7 Areas of Learning.